Monticello Driver Education Program
Albemarle County Behind-the-Wheel Driver Education courses are conducted through the Albemarle County Community Education Program. The 36 hour classroom requirement is included in the Health II curriculum which is available either the first or second nine-weeks of the sophomore year. Students must have successfully completed or be currently enrolled in the classroom phase of driver education (Health II) before beginning the Behind-the-Wheel course. Prior to registration, parents are required to attend a free, two-hour parent seminar. The dates and times of these seminars can be found on the Albemarle County School website link at www.opendoors1.org
Behind-the-Wheel Driver Education at Monticello High School is offered before school (7:30-8:30 a.m.), after school (4:00-6:00 p.m.), during study hall, and on weekends by appointment. Fourteen hours of highway instruction is needed to complete the course. Additional simulator training hours may also be required. The registration fee is $230.00 and is payable to Monticello High School. Students receiving free lunch are offered a $75.00 reduction in cost and students receiving reduced lunch are offered a $50.00 reduction in the registration fee. Ms. Neuhauser, director of Behind-the-Wheel Instruction at Monticello, is available every Wednesday during all three lunch periods in the cafeteria. She can also be reached by phone at 434/244-3100 ext. 61519 or by email at firstname.lastname@example.org
· Seniors and Juniors (Priority scheduling in Sept & October)
· Sophomores (As available – priority given to students who have held their learner’s permit for 3 months or longer)
Virginia State law allows for the acquisition of a learner's permit at age 15 years and 6 months. To obtain a learner's permit at the DMV, a student needs to present a birth certificate, social security number, pass a knowledge and vision test, have written parent/guardian consent, and pay the license fee.
After a student has reached the age of 16 years and 3 months, has successfully completed a driver education program that includes a road skills examination, and has successfully completed the classroom requirements, the school may issue the student a 180-day provisional driver’s license. This document, accompanied by a valid learner’s permit, allows the student to operate a motor vehicle with no adult supervision. The parent/guardian has the ultimate authority to grant The Division of Motor Vehicles permission to issue a "provisional (180-day) license to your child.
Juvenile Licensing Process
1. Students may apply for a learner's permit when they reach 15 years and 6 months of age. A 180-day provisional driver’s license may be issued at age 16 years and 3 months.
2. a. A learner’s permit allows the driver to operate a motor vehicle with a licensed driver seated beside them. That person must be 21 years old. If the person is their legal guardian, brother, sister, half-brother, half-sister, they must be 18 and be legally licensed to drive.
b. Learner's permit drivers are restricted to one non-family passenger less than 18 years old and have a midnight to 4:00 a.m. curfew.
c. Students possessing a learner's permit must log their driving hours. Virginia State law requires 45 hours of driving practice; 30 hours of daylight and 15 hours of driving between sunset and midnight. The driving log hours may not include the hours a student is enrolled in a Behind-the-Wheel training class. In order for a 180-day provisional license to be issued, a driving log signed by the parent or guardian must be submitted to the Director of Driver Education at each high school.
**NOTE: Students enrolled in Health II will receive an Albemarle County Parent/Student Driver Education Handbook. For convenience, a driving log is available at the back of the handbook.
3 a. A 180-day provisional driver’s license shall not authorize its holder to operate a motor vehicle with more than one non-family passenger until the holder has held a provisional license for one year, and no more than three non-family passengers less than 18 years until age 18.
b. Drivers under the age of 18 have a midnight to 4:00 a.m. curfew except when driving to and from work, to or from a school sponsored activity, with a parent/guardian or spouse who is 18 years old or older, or in cases of emergency.
c. Drivers younger than 20 years old must attend driver improvement clinics if they are convicted of a moving violation, a safety belt violation, or a child restraint violation.
4. Parents can contact the DMV and have the license revoked prior to age 18. The license will be revoked for a minimum of six months.
5. A juvenile court judge can suspend a 180-day provisional license or permanent license for any number or reasons, including truancy, alcohol, or drug-related offenses, delinquency and curfew violations.
Students driving with a learner’s permit are covered by their parent’s insurance policy, but will need additional coverage once they receive their permanent driver's license.
It should be emphasized that successful completion of a driver education program does not and should not imply that your child is a safe, accomplished driver. Please recognize that your child needs additional guided experience to become an effective and responsible driver. Therefore, it is recommended that you provide your child with a minimum of three months of additional supervised, behind-the-wheel driving experience.
After issuing the 180-day provisional license, the school will send the completed course information to the Image Retrieval Center in Richmond. Ten to twelve weeks after issuing the 180-day provisional license, the Juvenile and Domestic Relations Court will send the student driver a court appearance date. For students under the age of 18, both the parent/guardian and the student driver must appear before the judge to receive their permanent license. Students 18 years or older will have their permanent license mailed to them.
If you have additional question/concerns regarding the Driver Education Program at Monticello High School, please contact Ms. Susie Neuhauser at 434/244-3100 ext. 61519 or by email at email@example.com
Susie Neuhauser, Director
Monticello High School Driver Education
Albemarle County - Driver's Ed/Behind the Wheel
Albemarle County Public Schools does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, religion, age, sex, disability, national origin, pregnancy, or marital status.